Olympic golf qualifying 2020: Who’s heading to Tokyo?


The full rundown of the qualifying process and who will be teeing up in Japan in July

How does the Olympic golf qualifying 2020 process work and who’s going? We’ll get you there, but first…

But the Olympics weren’t held in 2020?

Correct, they were not – and you can read all about that here – but they are still being referred to as the 2020 Olympic Games – or Tokyo 2020 if that’s what you prefer.

What happened last time?

Despite a controversy-filled build up to the 2016 Olympic Games golf programme in Rio de Janiero, the sport returned to the world stage with a flourish after well over a century away.

Some fine golf captured the hearts and minds of the local fans as well as those watching from home. With six of the world’s top players taking home the medals for six different countries, golf’s global reaches were well on display and vindicated its inclusion in the world’s biggest sporting event.

Justin Rose’s three-year gold medal tour, after winning the men’s event, has been the source of a few laughs among his peers, but also the source of a fair deal of envy and regret. While the excuses piled up before the last Olympics for some notable absentees, there will likely be few this time around as the game’s best are regularly reminded of what they missed out on.

Rory McIlroy, the most high profile golfer to snub the Olympics last time out, has already commited to represent Ireland at Tokyo 2020. But who has qualified, and how did they do it? We break it all down for you right here.

Olympic golf qualifying 2020: How it works

As the Games have been pushed back by precisely one year, as has the qualifying period.

The men and women’s fields are made up of 60 players who will have qualified through the world ranking systems.

The top 15 in the world rankings on June 21, 2021 for men and June 28, 2021 for women will qualify automatically – but only up to four players from each country can qualify this way. In the event that there are more than four from one nation inside the top 15, the lowest ranked would miss out.

To make up the rest of the field players will qualify based on their ranking outside of the top 15 up to a maximum of two players per country. If there are already two or more qualified inside the top 15 then no further additions will be made.

So who’s in?

The likes of Dustin Johnson, Brooks Koepka and Sergio Garcia have opted out of playing, while none of the 2016 medallists – Justin Rose, Henrik Stenson and Matt Kuchar – have qualified.

So here is the men’s field for Tokyo 2020…

Emiliano Grillo

Cameron Smith
Marc Leishman

Matthias Schwab
Sepp Straka

Thomas Detry
Thomas Pieters

Corey Conners
Mackenzie Hughes

Joaquin Niemann
Mito Pereira

Carl Yuan
Ashun Wu

Sebastian Munoz

Czech Republic
Ondrej Lieser

Rasmus Hojgaard
Joachim B Hansen

Kalle Samooja
Sami Valimaki

Victor Perez
Antoine Rozner

Maximilian Kieffer
Hurly Long

Great Britain
Paul Casey
Tommy Fleetwood

Anirban Lahiri
Sanderson Farms

Rory McIlroy
Shane Lowry

Guido Migliozzi
Francesco Molinari

Hideki Matsuyama

South Korea
Sungjae Im
Si Woo Kim

Gavin Green

Abraham Ancer
Carlos Ortiz

Viktor Hovland
Kristian Johannessen

New Zealand
Ryan Fox

Fabrizio Zanotti

Juvic Pagunsan

Adrian Meronk

Puerto Rico
Rafael Campos

Rory Sabbatini

South Africa
Garrick Higgo
Christiaan Bezuidenhout

Jon Rahm
Rafa Cabrera Bello

Alex Noren
Henrik Norlander

CT Pan

Jazz Janewattananond
Gunn Charoenkul

United States
Justin Thomas
Collin Morikawa
Xander Schauffele
Bryson DeChambeau

Jhonattan Vegas

Scott Vincent

The women’s field will be finalised next week.

Subscribe to NCG

Credit: Source link

When you see us, PLAY! When you see us, PLAY!